Canadian Us Free Trade Agreement

[1] With Mexico`s accession in 1994, the free trade agreement was replaced by NAFTA (North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA), in Spanish: Tratado de Libre Comercio de América del Norte (TLCAN). [2] The CUSMA outcomes, signed on the sidelines of the G20 summit in Buenos Aires in November 2018, preserve key elements of long-term trade relations and contain new and updated provisions to address twenty-first century trade issues and promote opportunities for nearly half a billion people whom North America calls home. The North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA), signed by Prime Minister Brian Mulroney, Mexican President Carlos Salinas and U.S. President George H.W. Bush, entered into force on January 1, 1994. NAFTA has created economic growth and a rising standard of living for the citizens of the three member states.